Transit Commission

Sun Prairie Taxi

The Transit Commission consists of six (6) members who are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. Each member serves a three-year term. The Mayor appoints one representative from the senior citizens community, one representative from the school district, one representative from the business community, two representatives from the community at large, and one member of the City Council to the Transit Commission. The City Council member serves a one-year term.

Members of the Commission: 

  • Alder Faustina Bohling
  • Al Guyant
  • Janine Punzel
  • Melody Riedel
  • Rhonda Page
  • Chris Clinton

Duties of the Transit Commission

Duties of the Commission include, but are not be limited to:

  • Act as the oversight authority for the taxi service and make recommendations for changes to the taxi service as may be necessary on topics such as rate structure, expansion of service and hours of operation. This includes the City's shared-ride taxi program.
  • Review and make recommendations for future transit alternatives.
  • Review and respond to customer complaints.
  • Review and make recommendations regarding alternative revenue options, including intergovernmental agreements and grant applications.

View a full description of the Transit Commission in Chapter 2.68 of the Sun Prairie Municipal Code of Ordinances.

Ad Hoc Steering Committee on Transportation

In September of 2016, the City Council created a steering committee to assess the public passenger and alternative transportation needs of Sun Prairie and recommend potential solutions.

In May of 2017, the Committee submitted its final report. The City Council accepted the report and referred its recommendations to the Transit Commission for further consideration. The full report (PDF) can be viewed.