Parks, Recreation and Forestry Commission

image of gazebo

The Parks, Recreation and Forestry Commission consists of seven members: one Alderperson, the superintendent of the Sun Prairie Area School District or the Superintendent's designee, and five (5) citizens of recognized experience and qualifications. The director of parks and recreation shall be an ex-officio non-voting member of the Commission.

Duties of the Parks, Recreation and Forestry Commission

The Commission has all the powers conferred by law upon park, recreational, and in cities of the fourth class and is charged with the duties of making recommendations, overseeing work, and overseeing funds relating to all parks, playgrounds, and recreational activities as part of properties within the city.

The Parks, Recreation and Forestry Commission governs, manages, controls, improves and cares for all public parks located within, or partly within and partly without, the corporate limits of the city and determines the recreational needs of the public, and has jurisdiction over the public recreation program of the City.

Click here to read the full description of the Parks and Recreation Commission in Chapter 2.48 of the Sun Prairie Municipal Code of Ordinances.

Meeting Schedule

The Parks, Recreation and Forestry Commission is charged with meeting at least monthly at the discretion of the Commission Chairperson, which is normally scheduled for the first Wednesday of the month at 4:30 p.m. at the Westside Community Services Building.

Commission Members

Kate Piela, Chair

Kristin Newell, Vice Chair

Janet Rosseter, SPASD Representative

Brent Eisberner, City Council Representative

Barb Bailey, Member

Janice Chestnut, Member

Jeremiah Holiday, Member