Youth & Families Commission

Families at Corn Fest

The Youth and Families Commission of the City of Sun Prairie, whose duty will be to increase the community's awareness of the positive contributions made to the community by the youth and families and to help groups within the city to work on making Sun Prairie a better place for the city's youth and families.

The mission of the Sun Prairie Youth and Families Commission (reaffirmed March 2013) is to enhance the quality of life for the residents of the Sun Prairie School District. The Youth and Families Commission seeks to promote healthy behaviors, lifestyles, and the community conditions that empower people to be self-sustaining, contributing members of their families, schools, work places, and the community.

See a full description of the Youth and Families Commission under Chapter 2.60 of the Sun Prairie Municipal Code of Ordinances.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI)

This commission adheres to the guiding principles of advancing equity, honoring our diverse identity, and creating an inclusive culture. These serve as our guiding principles every day in all that we do. 

Please check out our subpage that outlines that outlines our current efforts to advance efforts around DEI.


Read the bylaws (PDF) for the Youth and Families Commission (Updated December 2020).


The Youth and Families Commission meets on the first Thursday of each month with the exception of July and October, when they meet on the second Thursday.


Current members as of January 2022 include:

  • Faustina Bohling, Council Representative
    Email Faustina Bohling 
  • Mary Ellen Havel-Lang, Adult Member, Chair
    Email Mary Ellen Havel-Lang
  • Sumedha Yarlagadda Vice Chair
  • Joanna Becker, Secretary
  • Karen Bailey, Adult Member
  • Bryn Horton, Sun Prairie Area School District
    Email Bryn Horton
  • Leela Bourenane, Student Member
  • Kristin Grissom, Sun Prairie Parks & Rec Department
    Email Kristin Grissom
  • Lynn Montague, Ex Officio Member
    Email Lynn Montague
  • Jeanne Wellman, Adult Member
  • Royse Sessums, Sun Prairie Police Department
    Email Royse Sessums
  • Jay Chatterjee, Adult Member
  • Michael Pruitt, Adult Member
  • Ashton Edwards, Student Member
  • Lyric Eveans, Student Member
  • Lonnie Randall, Adult Member